Tribute to the Military

Monday, March 13, 2006

Just in from Federatation for American Immigration Reform

Just in from Federation for Immigration Reform
Rep. Tom Tancredo Needs Your Help
Please call your Representatives and ask that they sign a letter being circulated by House Immigration Reform Caucus Chairman Tom Tancredo (R-CO) to Senate Judiciary Committee Chairman Arlen Specter (R-PA). The letter urges the Senate Judiciary Chairman to employ four key principles in fashioning Senate immigration legislation. The letter will be sent to Chairman Specter on Tuesday or Wednesday so don't delay. Make that call today. To identify your Representative, use this link.
The four key principles set forth in Congressman Tancredo's letter are: border security, interior enforcement, enforcement first and no amnesty. The letter describes them as follows: 
  1. Border Security: We must make an honest attempt to secure our borders through greater manpower and infrastructure resources-over and above what Congress has already authorized.

  2. Interior Enforcement: No solution to illegal immigration will work until we begin to prosecute employers who lure illegal aliens into the U.S.

  3. Enforcement First: No foreign worker plan can function unless we have operational control of our borders and unless we know who comes in and out of our country.

  4. No Amnesty: Rewarding persons who have broken the law with an advantage that they would not otherwise have had encourages more illegal behavior and is unjust to immigrants who came to the U.S. legally."
Senate Judiciary Committee to Finish Work on Guest Worker Amnesty This Week
As you know from our earlier updates and alerts, the Senate Judiciary Committee is considering a bill that would establish an unlimited guest worker amnesty program. The guests never have to leave the country and 10-12 million illegal aliens would be given amnesty. On Wednesday and Thursday, the committee will meet to consider the guest worker and amnesty provisions.
If you haven't called Senators on the Judiciary Committee yet, please do so today. If you have made those calls, consider doing so again. They are listed below.
Senate Judiciary Committee: Sen. Arlen Specter (R-PA) - 202-224-4254 Sen. Orrin G. Hatch (R-UT) - 202-224-5251 Sen. Charles E. Grassley (R-IA) - 202-224-3744 Sen. Jon L. Kyl (R-AZ) - 202-224-4521 Sen. Mike DeWine (R-OH) - 202-224-2315 Sen. Jeff Sessions (R-AL) - 202-224-4124 Sen. Lindsey O. Graham (R-SC) - 202-224-5972 Sen. John Cornyn (R-TX) - 202-224-2934 Sen. Sam Brownback (R-KS) - 202-224-6521 Sen. Thomas A. Coburn (R-OK) - 202-224-5754 Sen. Patrick J. Leahy (D-VT) - 202-224-4242 Sen. Edward M. Kennedy (D-MA) - 202-224-4543 Sen. Joseph R. Biden (D-DE) - 202-224-5042 Sen. Herbert H. Kohl (D-WI) - 202-224-5653 Sen. Dianne Feinstein (D-CA) - 202-224-3841 Sen. Russ Feingold (D-WI) - 202-224-5323 Sen. Charles E. Schumer (D-NY) - 202-224-6542 Sen. Richard J. Durbin (D-IL) - 202-224-2152

No comments: